When Being Over-Organized Holds You Back

While living in chaos, being flexible might suit you better.

Adelina Vasile
2 min readNov 13, 2021
Photo by Ayla Verschueren on Unsplash

Over-organized people tend to be shattered by the unexpected.

You’re organized because you want to be prepared. You want a clear path and everything you need at a finger’s tip. But can you be prepared? Do things always work the way you planned?

Growing up, my father insisted that I should always keep my word. Never be late to a meeting. Rather be early. Plan and stick to plans.

Yet, it often baffled me when I noticed how many people never keep their word. They are often late. Ignore planning or plan but ignore their planning down the road.

If you’ve ever been anything like me, you know what it’s like. How you end up feeling lost when something doesn’t work out as you planned it.

The truth is that things often don’t work out as planned. And because over-organized people also tend to be highly inflexible, they often end up suffering a lot.

Feels like you? If so, here’s what you can do.

Plan, but expect things to go south.

  • Be open.
  • Listen, really listen.
  • Don’t take things personally — when people change their minds, it’s…

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.