Adelina Vasile
Nov 15, 2022

--

Your father sounds like one of a kind, Ruby! And you certainly sound like a very lucky daughter.

I particularly enjoyed, reading your story, how subtle you pointed out that he wasn't perfect, despite of all the things he did, many of which were atypical for the other men of his time.

It made me think of my relationship with my father, of which I prefer to complain, probably more than I should.

We live together as well, we invited him and my mother to join our family after my son was born. And that was my chance too, like you said, to get to know him as an adult.

There are many parts I don't like about him, but reading you prompted me a bit in the direction of deliberately seeking more things I can and should appreciate about my father. Thank you!

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.