When the Child Says No, Trying To Force Obedience May Be Tempting

But it’s also wrong.

Adelina Vasile
3 min readMar 12, 2022
Photo from Pixabay

Nothing makes me want to throw an adult tantrum like my son saying no when I scoop him up, ready to hear a yes.

I know, and you know, that grownups have their agenda that must usually include a child in it too.

But what we often forget is that children have a completely different agenda than we do. So, when different agendas collide, how can you avoid a clash?

It’s instinctive to get into a fighting position. Still, being grumpy and oozing negative emotions won’t bring you anything good, be it in the long run or the short run.

When you force choices on the little ones, all you’re getting is a momentary submission. The child is constrained to pick one choice (to come with you) over another choice (to face the “consequences”) from two undesirable options.

You can’t walk over your child, and you won’t be educating them if you do it.

Also, you can’t walk over your child and expect them to grow up into independent, self-confident adults who don’t allow others to walk over them.

How do you obtain cooperation without forcing it?

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.