What People Mean When They Say They Want To Change

And how you might work around this flaw.

Adelina Vasile
3 min readJan 3, 2023
Image by Andrew Martin from Pixabay

Have you broken your new year's resolutions? Not yet?

Take your time. Soon, you’ll learn if you’re among the 91% of people who fail their plans.

As I’m writing this, I struggle to stick to the plan myself.

It reminds me of how wise I was last month when, after checking my bank account, I decided not to buy that transformational course.

The itch was painful.

Yet my copywriter brain told me what made that copy irresistible to me.

You see, I wanted a transformation.

A transformation of what?

I wanted to turn some things around in my life.

And the course ad painted me the perfect image of that transformation. The perfect circumstances I was going to find myself in, after taking action.

And that’s what courses are supposed to do, right?

Show you what to do to get results that change your life.

That’s the problem.

You don’t want to change yourself, you want to change your life. Your circumstances.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.