The Songs Parents Play in Their Heads

Many are oldies but goldies. Rings a bell to you?

Adelina Vasile
3 min readMar 21, 2022
Photo by OpenClipart-Vectors on Pixabay

Kid: Let’s wake up! chirps a little voice at an unearthly early hour.

Parent: Hmm… Wake Me Up When September Ends! I was dreaming…

Kid: Waaaake up, September ended! What’s September?

Parent: No, really, haven’t I told you if you wake up before the sun is up to go play with your toys?

Kid: But the sun is rising. I can feel it. Let’s go watch the sunrise together! Oh, look, I’m Walking On Sunshine! continues the chirpy little voice while hopping out of bed and jumping on a ray of light, the only ray of light projected on the dark room’s floor.

Parent: Indeed, it feels like the House of the Rising Sun. Let’s wake up. I needed to pee anyway.

Kid: What did you make me for breakfast?

Parent: You mean while I was sleeping? Nothing. I was sleeping.

Kid: But I’m huuuungry.

Parent: Me too! What did you make me for breakfast? thinking of Deep Blue Something and some Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

Kid: Nothing. I was sleeping. Let’s check the fridge.

Parent: You won’t find much in there. Let’s get us some Milk And Toast And Honey.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.