The Most Important Thing I Learned as a New Parent

It pushed me forward when I was stuck in the past

Adelina Vasile
5 min readJan 30, 2021
Photo by Zach Lucero on Unsplash

Where I live, people consider themselves accomplished if they can buy a house, own a car, and take one or two vacations every year. For most of my life, I thought these were the achievements my sister and I have stolen from our parents.

After all, we grew up in a modest family. We always stayed in rented houses. We only dreamt of having a family car. And through our first 14 years of life, there were no vacations, but only the traditional summer holiday spent in the countryside, with our maternal grandparents.

Flashbacks From My Childhood

I recall coming back to town in autumn, before school. Our friends were telling stories about going to the seaside or the mountains. We could only tell them stories from harvesting the watermelons.

I recall my parents whispering late at night how they needed to borrow money, a few days before the monthly paycheck was supposed to come in.

I recall my father’s exasperated face whenever I was coming and asking for extra money for school, to buy different books or pay some fees.

I recall my parents’ fights, grown out of the daily worries, tensions, and work stress.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.