Adelina Vasile
1 min readNov 4, 2021

--

That is such a thoughtful and insightful answer, Tessa!

I did read your other article about the direction Medium is taking. I also bumped into some stats from Casey Botticello that show how Medium is getting more and more registered members from one month to another.

So, I've been asking myself - who are these new members? What do they read?

Are they predominantly writers attracted by the chance of making money on Medium? I find it hard to believe that they are all writers.

In my opinion, there has been an increase of registered writers and this, combined with Medium's change of algorithm, makes it harder for the readers to find quality stories like yours.

I hope it's just a general confusion for now. And that, sooner or later, the algorithm will make it possible for those who truly seek thoughtful reads to find them in their feeds and those who want to learn how to write to find the kind of material they are interested in.

Otherwise, it doesn't make sense for Medium to keep pushing in our feeds even the stories that complain about how terrible the platform has become.

I think they're tweaking the algorithm and haven't gotten it right so far.

Meanwhile, it's so sad that so many valuable writers are tempted to leave and so many readers can't seem to find their place around here anymore.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.