Adelina Vasile
Jan 10, 2022

--

So, Ana, your colleagues, the people who knew you and appreciated your everyday joy, and who were worried about seeing you so unwell all of a sudden, tried to comfort you by saying that things like this happen all the time...

I guess this is one reason why so many things like this remain in our heads, without ever making it to our lips...

Even the victims end up telling themselves this - It happens, there's nothing I can do about it.

Also, you're so true about blaming the victim. I never really thought about it this way before, but accepting that it wasn't the victim's fault tends to leave us with the idea that the reality is frightening and there's little we can do about it.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.