#WRITINGPROMPT: TACTILE EXPERIENCE OF WORDS

Poem: Brain Confesses Admiration for Words

My brain is jealous of your shades of gray

Adelina Vasile
3 min readJan 16, 2022

--

Photo by Enzo Tommasi on Unsplash

My Brain Is Jealous of Your Shades of Gray

You color me speechless when you open your mouth.
I stop, I breathe, and I ponder my thoughts.
There’s so much so often I try to convey,
could I find the one word all of my thoughts prey?

Your curves and edges adorned with white spaces
seem to lure the eye and bring joy to the senses.
I can see why so many would fall for your looks…
Call me old-fashioned, but I lurk for your nooks.

For it’s not your shape that makes me feel.
It’s all those meanings that spool my spinning reel.
I could alter you, word, in so many ways,
and you’ll be a thought-shifter, not something I gaze.

If anything about you sends shivers down my spine
and body aches I try fighting all the time,
as I said, your meanings are touching my heart.
The way you pull my brain strings is taking me apart.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.