Pandemic + Terminal Illness News = Conscious Living

A year in review and 3 lessons my family learned the hard way during the pandemic

Adelina Vasile
11 min readFeb 16, 2021

2020 was supposed to be the best year of our lives. Enter Pandemic. Suddenly, we were living a nightmare, but for my family, the hell was yet to unleash. It happened a few days before Easter, when we were expecting it the least, and it forever changed our course. One year later, as we draw the line and see what’s left of us, I’m still struggling to understand how, despite all of it, we managed to count so many blessings.

The following is a personal story of my family.

I’m bleeding these words from my fingers to try and make better sense of the changes we’ve been through. I’m hoping it to serve me as a reminder of the precious lessons I’ve learned during the most challenging year we’ve lived.

If you’re reading this and feel inspired to review your gratitude reasons from the past year, even better. As M.J. Ryan said,

Gratitude is like a flashlight. It lights up what is already there.

And I don’t mind helping you turn on that flashlight. So here we go. We were supposed to rule the world in 2020. But the world had other plans.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.