Adelina Vasile
2 min readAug 26, 2021

--

Oh, Mason, I don't even know where to begin... Your reply brought tears to my eyes! My parents are supportive and all, but not the talkative type, so I never really got to hear their side of the story like you did here. My dad confesses that he's spending more time with his grandson than he ever did with my sister and me and that he's truly enjoying it. I guess it's because, as you said, he's having all the fun without the parenting challenges. My son shares his passion for all technical things, and they could spend hours together in the "work lab," where he gets to play with batteries, flashlights, bike pumps, screwdrivers, and God knows what else. It kind of annoys me that he stopped playing with his toys, and he's only seeking tools around the house now. At the beginning of the lockdown, we all sat and discussed whether it would be best for my parents to move separately, so they would be better protected - my husband still had his job that involved contacts with different people daily. They said they couldn't picture themselves not seeing their grandson every day, so they stayed. I can't tell for how long our "union" will work as it is, but especially after my father-in-law suddenly died, I'm learning to take life one day at a time, without trying to look too much into the future. Everyone is happier this way, for now. As you said, the good outweighs the bad. So, we're enjoying it while it still lasts. Thank you from the heart for sharing your perspective. It means a lot to me!

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.