Love Is Overrated, All Relationships Need Something Else

The whole world needs something else.

Adelina Vasile
5 min readSep 28, 2022
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

I love you more than chocolate, but please, don’t make me prove it. Also…

I don’t like it when you do this. Or I need you to do that. Do you think you could be more like this? Oh, and I really wish you’d stop asking me that.

Isn’t love selfish, through this lens?

Yes, but only because it isn’t true love — it lacks the one thing that makes love… true love.

Do you love someone for who they are or for how they make you feel? What do you do when the person you love doesn’t make you feel the way you want?

Usually, this is where partners try to change each other. Things could go so much better if only they’d have respect.

Respect makes a world of difference in every relationship. Not just in romantic relationships, but also in relationships with our children, parents, relatives, friends, or co-workers.

Not that kind of respect

Dictionaries first define respect as “a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.