Adelina Vasile
2 min readOct 8, 2021

--

Just like Kristina said, my toddler is also eager to imitate his dad and me. He insists on sitting in our lap when we're working on our PCs. He claps on the keyboard, pretending he's doing "work for his clients", as I do. And he's swiping the ads on YouTube when we watch his favorite cartoons like a pro.

I guess "we" is the key word here because I do my best to be a part of his experience while he's using technology. I try to keep it to a minimum, and I'm pretty sure he'll make up for it the moment he gets to use these devices regularly.

Meanwhile, we watch the cartoons together and discuss what he sees. If he asks me questions I don't know the answers to, I admit to him and pick up my phone to search for the answers. We often go on YouTube, so I can show him plants and animals he's asking about. And we tear old/broken devices apart so we can show him what's inside and how they work.

I don't ask myself if one day he'll know more than I do. I'm sure he will.

For now, I'm more interested in allowing his brain to thrive in a more natural environment. I have all the confidence he'll know what to do as technology will play a more significant role in his life. And I am a bit anxious as I have to admit that, for now, I'm clueless regarding the best moment to step aside and let him immerse into it all by himself.

I hope I'll be his partner "in crime" for as long as possible, and not just the villain who doesn't "get" him. Only time will tell.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.