Adelina Vasile
1 min readMar 13, 2022

--

I've learned not to make any assumptions about your stories just by reading their titles, but at the back of my mind, there's still a default expectation for some "nonsense". This time I instantly relaxed once I read "No Nonsense" at the top.

It is, indeed, easier said than done, and without knowing their story, we can assume all day long. Racial discrimination got so many people killed that keeping a low head is something many would instinctively do today.

It's so hard to fight something you grew up with, especially when/if other people depend on you to keep a low head. We have a saying about it even here, in Romania, and I'm sure it's present in any culture in some form or another - "The sword doesn't cut a bowed head".

As sad as unfair as it may be, I just think not everyone is or affords to be a snake-hood catcher.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.