Adelina Vasile
1 min readJan 26, 2022

--

I’m more of a chestnuts fan, though I used to enjoy chess too.

I think I was around ten when dad took out a thick book, a collection of Alekhine’s most famous chess games, and introduced my sis and I to the pro game.

We’ve seen and played chess before, but following Alekhine’s moves was a whole new level.

Somehow, I often ended having to move a piece that was no longer where it was supposed to be on the board. Guess I’m not good at closely following instructions. 🤷

I lost touch with the game in time, but I have fond memories of playing it withy dad, my sister, and even with grandpa.

Hope my son will enjoy chess, it is one of the best stretches for the brain I can think of. Though for now, he’s mostly moving the pawns around the house, threatening to shove them in places they don’t belong to.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.