--

I'd say people don't read these TOS because they don't like the alternative. Suppose they read the terms and become aware of the permissions they grant. It's not something they like, but can they still use the app or service if they choose to decline the TOS? In all honesty, I've declined the TOS and accepted I won't use an app only when it wasn't something super-important to me and when I found the permissions to be too invasive. Like, for instance, if I wanted an app for taking notes that would require access to my phone agenda... But other than that, I think we all close our eyes and willingly grant these permissions because we want to have that app that so many other people are using...

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.