Adelina Vasile
Nov 15, 2022

--

I would dare to say that the time for alcohol talk should be much earlier than when children enter adolescence...

Just like I talk to my four-year-old about healthy food choices, I talk to him about alcohol and the effects it has on our bodies.

Adolescence is a very tricky period where the youngsters are more likely to rebel or distance themselves from their parents, so any major talk we'd try to have with them around that time is more likely to fail. But if we do our homework well in advance, we might just have an extra chance.

Talking openly about all the things that matter as early as possible AND encouraging our children to embrace their uniqueness and avoid doing things under peer pressure are two things I care very much about.

I so hope I'll get right on both of them with my son...

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.