Adelina Vasile
1 min readMay 19, 2021

--

I believe it was Scott Galloway who said that crisis situations don't induce spectacular, unexpected changes, but only boost a direction that was already there. I believe that in most families, the general tendencies that existed before the pandemic were exacerbated. Parents who didn't want to take "roles" they thought were for others kept doing so. Parents who whished they could do more for their families got an opportunity to do so. The difference, for the ones in the first category, is that both partners were trapped in the same home, and so, they no longer had room to distance themselves and let their relationships breathe. For people to change, they must want the change for themselves, first, which doesn't seem to be the case in many families.

P.S. Every time I read you, I'm surprised to discover new things we have in common - my husband is also the one who cooks in our home and he does an excellent job at it :D

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.