How Saying “I Love You” Can Flash Your Whole Life in Front of Your Eyes

Only children have this power, don’t they?

Adelina Vasile
2 min readMar 30, 2022
Photo by Mystics Art Design on Pixabay

I hear your whole life flashes in front of your eyes right before you die.

But how about when a three-year-old gives you a kick that sends you to the very last day of your life?

-I love you…

I whispered while watching him playing on his own and calculating my movements so I can sneak out and go work a bit on my computer.

-All the time? he asks while continuing to mind his own business.

-All the time.

-You can’t have enough of loving me?

-I can’t have enough of loving you, I repeat, starting to feel a little guilty because who can’t have enough of someone while getting ready to ditch them?

-Will you love me the same even when you’ll be old and hunchbacked and walk with a stick?

And just like that, I saw myself old and hunchbacked and walking with a stick. Sure enough, loving him more than anything.

Only that chances are he’ll be the one looking to ditch me, by then.

Weird how parenting is all about taking these tiny persons who entirely depend on us and supporting them to grow…

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.