How Minimalism Can Make Us Better Parents

Less is more. More time for our children.

Adelina Vasile
7 min readFeb 12, 2022
Hand drawing of a family of four, dad holding hands with son, mom holding hands with daughter.
Photo by Merio on Pixabay.com

Love needs and takes time.

How can we find more time to show our children how much we love them? By owning less stuff, worrying about fewer things, picking fewer battles.

A minimalist mindset doesn't just help with eliminating useless things. It makes room for the things that matter. It brings clarity to those things.

When what matters is buried in stuff we don't need, it's no wonder we can't see it anymore.

Less stuff equals more time

We all need more time.

Time to spend with our children and partner to create memories and instill values that are worth more than anything.

Also, we all kind of suck at this.

I know I do.

Here's a picture of what we call the black hole in our home. We have two of these—one in the house and another at the back of the yard.

What matters, overwhelmed by clutter. Photo by Adelina

Sometime last year, I wrote about how I'm keeping afloat with the toys I have never bought.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.