Horrible Thoughts Indicate Parental Anxiety

You're not crazy for having those intrusive thoughts, but you might want to seek help for your parental anxiety.

Adelina Vasile
4 min readOct 16, 2021
Photo by OSPAN ALI on Unsplash

Do you picture the knife you're holding falling on your baby?

Accidentally dropping your little one from your arms and watching her head getting smashed to the floor?

A car hitting you as you push the stroller on the sidewalk?

Your toddler falling at the park and breaking his neck? Or drowning at the pool?

Horrible graphic images take over your mind, making you shake your head seriously so that they go away?

You must be wondering what's wrong with you. Why can't you just enjoy the blissful moment you're living when everyone is well and happy? Everyone but you, because you can't be happy when you're so afraid…

It was October 8, my birthday, and I was sitting on a hospital bed, waiting for the neonatologist to confirm that she'd discharge my three days old son and me from the hospital on that Monday.

Instead, she entered the room carrying some blood results, and she started with, "I'm afraid I don't have good news. We want to keep you in for at least one more day…"

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.