Adelina Vasile
1 min readJun 28, 2021

--

Hi Garry, and congrats for finding your way to better-paying clients on Upwork! I've been on the platform for over 5 years now, so I dare to suggest a slightly different approach to what you did here. I've often read articles written from the client's perspective, where they complained about how they prefer to stay away from writers who seriously undervalue their proposals. While I can see your motivation in doing so when starting out, I think it's better to go a bit higher than you did, all while keeping your honesty, and offering the client a little extra right in the cover letter. For instance, in this case, I would have placed my bid at $15, which is still lower than the client's budget, but not that low for me. And I would have tried to stand out by either asking the client extra questions or come up with a few topic suggestions, possibly even drafting an outline for a particular topic. If you have more details in the job descriptions, it is always best to take advantage of it and show the client how you'd tackle the project based on those details. I can assure you that only a few writers do it and this is guaranteed to make you stand out in a sea of canned responses. You have higher odds to get the job without working for pennies.

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.