Happy Birthday, My First Heaven

My heart holds so many words I can’t let out.

Adelina Vasile
1 min readNov 29, 2021
Photo by Liv Bruce on Unsplash

It’s her birthday today.

All I could say was, “Happy birthday, mom.” But I wanted to say so much more. And I just couldn’t.

I pushed my little guy to hug her, snuggle her, and ask her how she would feel about making an apple cake since it’s her birthday today and we should celebrate. He thought the celebrated should cook…

Kids.

They can drag you into the most uncomfortable social situations. But sometimes, like today, they can spare you from saying the things that fill your eyes with tears by just being rambunctious and careless about etiquette.

So, here’s what I really wanted to tell you, mom.

You truly make heaven a place on Earth.

You’ve been my first heaven for as long as I can remember.

And if I can be for my son half the mom you were for me, I would be thrilled.

Off I go to make that apple cake!

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.