This Woman Had a Baby, and Then She Worried About Losing Her Childfree Friend

Ain’t fair for anyone.

Adelina Vasile
3 min readOct 22, 2021
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

Dear friend from my before-children life,

I know it’s hard to believe it, but it’s still me.

I’m here, thinking about you. About us. About how we used to meet out in the city. Or jump on a call at the weirdest hours.

And I know I had a missed call from you earlier today. Today? Or maybe it was yesterday?

I wanted to text you and tell you that the baby was sleeping, and I couldn’t call. But then, the baby woke up. And I can’t even remember where I’ve put my phone.

These aren’t the only things I can’t remember.

But maybe it’s not fair to get you into all the boring details of my newly exhausting and exciting life of breastfeeding, changing diapers, and checking up on my baby just to make sure he’s still breathing.

Or is it fair?

If friendships aren’t about that, what are they about?

If I can’t tell you that I miss us, but I’m trying to find myself, what can I tell you?

If you can’t find the understanding that my whole world has changed in ways I couldn’t anticipate and that I truly hope you won’t give up on me until I find my…

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.