A Messy Home Is No Reflection Of Your Mothering

Your children don’t believe so. Why should you?

Adelina Vasile
5 min readOct 2, 2021
Photo by Gabe Pierce on Unsplash

If all goes well, tomorrow evening I’ll have three children under three in my home. My sister is coming to visit us and I’ve been spending the past week or so moving things from one place to another, to free up a room for them. My house has been messier than ever. I’ve been more stressed than ever, with my son jumping on every single thing I was trying to put somewhere. And he has been yelled at more than ever. I’ve been hating myself for it. And then it hit me. We, mothers, put so much pressure on everything we do, from what we choose for our children to how we keep our homes while trying to raise those children. When did motherhood become more about housekeeping and less about raising decent human beings?

Every time I try to keep my home sparkling clean and go against what my body tells me I can handle, I transform myself. I’m not the parent I want to be. I don’t model the things I want to model for my child. I’m this witch obsessed with keeping things at their place and not doing any mess. I flip at the smallest mistakes my kid does. Mistakes messing with what I just cleaned up.

Is my clean house a reflection of how good of a mother I am?

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.