3 Things I Learned as a Child That I Now Use To Make a Living Writing

Pushed by my father, who was clueless about his contribution at the time

Adelina Vasile
5 min readFeb 17, 2021
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Children don’t come with a manual, which makes parenting both exciting and terrifying. My parents did the best they could, yet it turned out that of all those things, a couple of them helped me become an adult that now makes a living writing.

It was only recently that I had taken the time to look back into my childhood and adolescence, spotting the invisible thread that led me here. Now that I’m in my 30s, I can see that I’ve been an amateur writer long before I knew how to write correctly and a writer for hire since my first year in university.

Between these two stages, my father stepped in and somewhat forced my hand to acquire specific skills that I take great advantage of, even today. It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy the practice, but I had something against the rigors of the imposed schedule, like any child.

Anyway, those were the days, and those were the ways my father thought he should guide me. Only Edith Piaf doesn’t regret a thing, but while I might have a few regrets from my childhood, nothing is related to the following three things.

I have always been encouraged to write

--

--

Adelina Vasile

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.